Linkage Prime: Summer School Edition

I’m a student, and I’ve been a student most of my life. This means that my psyche is hard-wired to know that summer is break time.

But not this year. For my doctorate, I really need to learn Persian, something I’ve never had the opportunity to do till now. To make up for lost time, I’m taking an intensive summer language course – four hours a day, five days a week, for eight weeks. The class – coupled with the train ride to get to the class and the hours of homework each night – has pretty much assured the fact that I won’t be doing much in the way of gaming, or even posting, over the next two months.

Nevertheless, of late there have been some really neat posts on other blogs, and I thought I’d follow in the tradition of other great blogs and spread some link love, with attached comments for yours truly.

  • GeeCee’s decided she’s done with APB, at least for the time being. Despite the fact that I am looking forward to APB’s release (early access begins tomorrow morning!), I think everything she writes in that post is spot on. The fact of the matter is, APB will probably go F2P very soon, much like the other major MMOFPS, Global Agenda.
  • Speaking of Global AgendaSteam is having a major-awesome summer sale right this moment, and several MMOs are included in the list.
  • I don’t following WoW news at all – well, except for the the little moments of schadenfreude. Which is exactly what Gordon’s post on WoW‘s 3.3.5 patch is. Man, I’m sorta glad I’m not playing that game – to a completely ignorant and opinionated outsider, it seems that anything that makes WoW more like Facebook is a bad thing.

Anyways, that’s it for this week. If I have the time, I might bang out a post on why I’m looking forward to APB, but I doubt it; I’m investing my time in playing some real games.

4 thoughts on “Linkage Prime: Summer School Edition

    • Well, of course! I really dig your site – you’re an excellent author, and you discuss things that interest me. I’m glad I had an excuse to hook you up.

      Persian is hard enough as is, and I don’t even study Japan! I’m going to have pass on that one. Sorry. 😦

  1. Major ups for using schadenfreude in a blogpost, though given that you are putting that much time and energy into learning Persian, it was probably an off the cuff statement for you, lol.

    • hahah, funny story.

      The first time I ever heard the word ‘schadenfreude’ was in connection with the Eurogamer/Dark Fall fiasco. I’m not certain where it was exactly – maybe here or here.

      Anyways, when I wrote up this piece, I used the word because, well, it’s a perfect word for describing the pull negative internet press has over my psyche. When I typed up the above piece, I had to actually go back to my first story and look up the spelling.

      So, uh, now you know! I’m not all that smart; it’s all about reading other things and reusing the parts you like. WHICH ISN’T PLAGIARISM AT ALL

Leave a Reply

