On Civilization

In Which A Barbarian Visits The Decadence of Stygia, Encounters A Cute Puppy, And Acquires Nemedian Armor The Cimmerian Way.

So I solved my leveling problem – I decided that before I spent any leveling tokens, I’d finish all the quests I’d received in Cimmeria that took me somewhere else. I wasn’t certain how much EXP I’d get on my great adventure, but at least I wouldn’t be discombobulated when it came to the plot.

My first stop was the decadence of Stygia.

Round the decay of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare, the lone and level sands stretch far away.

I had a few quests that took me to Khopesh Province – specifically, a Stygian scholar had accidently been teleported to Cimmeria, and had requested I take word back to his wife. I also had my destiny quest, which required I enter an abandoned temple and kill something that wore blood for flesh. Amazing adventure, indeed. While in Khopesh, I decided to ask the local guard if they needed help – which, conveniently, they did. Turns out a village to the north, isolated on a small village, had been turned? overrun? by the undead. If I checked it for the guard, they wouldn’t die and I’d be richer.

I swam across the river and talked to the town’s only remaining living inhabitant, an elderly Priestess of Derketo. She… uh, well, this is probably the most disgusting thing I’ve read in AoC yet.

That's just disgusting.

Despite being terrified of the elderly living, I decided I’d take care of the freshly undead. It was pretty cool – in some places, they actually rose out of the ground to fight me!

After cleaning house, I decided I’d help out a scholar by going into a dungeon far beneath my level. It was fun, in a completely unchallenging and not fun way. Also: man, there are alot of dungeons in Kopesh versus Conall’s Valley!

Anyways, helping this scholar was, in the long run, probably a terrible mistake.

Oh ffffuuuuuuuuuu (Lovecraft fans, eat your heart out)

Ignoring the fact that I’d just uncovered the documents of a world-ending cult dedicated to an eldritch horror, I decided I’d go to Aquilonia.

See, there was a trader in Conall’s Valley who traded me a map fragment, saying it was worthless and the other piece gone. I had tracked down the second piece to a man that was hanging out in Tarantia’s sewers.

Why was he there? I don’t know. For the same reasons that beggars, snakes, crocodiles, komodo dragons and cultists were, I guess. Of course, I had to fight the guy – he wouldn’t talk, the fool.

And then I see what he was looking at – a pedestal in the middle of the room. With a puppy on it.

I just don't even know.

So, Khatri the Barbarian – also a pet-owner killer, I guess.

Also: totally told an Aquilonian noble that her husband had cheated on her with a Cimmerian strumpet. I didn’t want it to end that way – I wanted to tell the husband on the down-low – but, well, EXP was calling.

Lastly, I went to the Aquilonian-Nemedian border. A Cimmerian chap decided he wanted some fancy, shiny Nemedian armor, and I said I’d look into it.

Turns out I had to hike through the no-man’s land separating two warring empires, only to murder the Nemedian Adventurer wearing the armor. It was sort of sad – he was in a small, tucked away part of the map, minding his own business and eating some crabs he’d just caught.

Death waits for no man.

This entire adventure got me through most of level 34 – I’m just a few thousand EXP shy of level 35. After I finish up in the border area, I’ll probably head back to Cimmeria. Or maybe gather more crafting materials. Or, uh, do something else.

4 thoughts on “On Civilization

  1. I would seriously do go to the Wildlands and get quests for Sanctum and run that a few times then go to Koseph and get quests for Black Temple and run that a few times as well. That should get you to 40 or pretty close and then you will need to go to Noble District in OT.

    • Alright, I’ll keep all those places in mind! Given that I’m starting an HoX tomorrow, this won’t be such a pressing concern for a bit.

Leave a Reply

