One Of These Things Is Not Like The Other

From Executive Producer Craig Zinkievich’s most recent State of the Game:

Some of the few things on the way:

  • Respec
  • Death Penalty
  • Difficulty Slider
  • More open auto-fire
  • Replayable missions
  • Improving Memory Alpha
  • Fixing those Commodity missions

Did you guess which thing was not like the others?
Did you guess which thing just doesn’t belong?
If you guessed this one is not like the others,
Then you’re absolutely…right!

Death Penalties

Look, I have nothing against death penalties. In Ye Olde Days, when I didn’t actually play MMOs but my friends did, I heard they could be pretty bad. But MMO death penalties, like most things in video games, have mellowed out with age. From my experience in WAR and WoW, death amounts to little more than a temporary debuff (so that you’d don’t go charging back into an unwinnable battle, I’m told), and a little coin.

Of course, no death penalty is nice. I mean, I really don’t like working my way out of experience holes, ya know? Or losing gear. Or generally being punished for something that happens over and over and over again…

More than anything, what it comes down to for me is this: how do you implement a death penalty that truly feels like Star Trek? The Enterprise – any Enterprise – blows up all the time, but never for real. Real death – that’s something different.

Of course, even that was fixed. In a universe where death is either a joke or extremely serious, where’s the middle ground for a death penalty?

2 thoughts on “One Of These Things Is Not Like The Other

  1. An appropriate death penalty for STO…hmm. This was something I tried to think about and failed.

    One thing I do know though, is that any death penalty they come up with can’t be too harsh. You can’t go from having no penalty to something really punishing or that will just make people rage. It’s really something that should be implemented before launch.

  2. I’d rather not have one at all. It just leads people to take less chances, which is usually less fun. I’d rather see a bonus for not dying, something like what Champions does with their stars, rather than a penalty.

    Even without a penalty, I tried to avoid dying, since it just makes me feel like a failure of a captain.

Leave a Reply

