STO: Beginnings

Today, Bucky Hamilton began her career as a Starfleet captain.


Despite my love of Cardassians and Tactical offiers, I decided to make a Liberated Borg Engineer. Her name is Buckminster “Bucky” Hamilton. Does the first name sound familiar? A little. TAGN inspired me to name my character after a “Buck” from my past – in this case, my Uncle Bucky. Once I have a better screen capture of my character, I’ll post the little biography I wrote up for her!

For the time being, here’s a little screen cap of Bucky, about to beam over to the U.S.S. Khitomer:

Dramatic irony: I'm sorry Lt. Commander McMary, but I know you will die so that my career might advance.

I was particularly proud of what I was able to do with that tribal tattoo – I noticed one of them had an oval-shape right in the middle of it, so I tweaked it just right so that the oval part overlaid the left eye. Part of it even runs down her nose, making it look intentional!

Beaming over the U.S.S. Khitomer was not bad – it seems most headstarters have, you know, actually started the game, so no one was up in my grill.

The EMH, A Father Figure for Us All

The EMH is so badass. I believe that, some day, I might even come to regard him as a father figure.

Do you notice the bluriness in the first screen cap, and the sharpness of the second? I think that’s post-processing effects for you (on in first, off in second). Honestly, I think I like the game slightly better with them off. (At the least, I’m trying to convince myself of that in an attempt to save some system resources.)

Scanning for life forms.

I'm Ensign Hamilton, your nurse today. I'm sorry, the badass EMH is so badass he couldn't be bothered to move from his spot in the middle of the room. You'll live... probably.

I finally cleared through the U.S.S. Khitomer, and got exactly the bridge officer I wanted – a female Andorian tactical officer that had High Yield Torpedo I. Fire At Will II in her Lt. Commander was a nice bonus. Furthermore, unlike all of my tactical officers in Beta,¬†she didn’t have Leg Sweep as her first ground attack ability. Which is great, because grenades are much more useful than a melee ability she never, ever used.

However, my beam down to the planet was a little spotty. I don’t know about you guys, but really massive outdoor areas slow my computer down alot. It’s really unfortunate – I thought I’d finally set up my graphic options such that I could get around that. Or maybe that ground combat is just unusually laggy. Who knows.

That’s as far as I got. Just as I started to destroy that crazy Borg equipment on the planet, the server crashed and has been down since. I’m a little disappointed, but at least I’ve made a character I’m happy with!

One thought on “STO: Beginnings

  1. It is incredible how much customization you can do with this game, even with your bridge officers.

    And ground combat is a little laggy for me too, so don’t worry, it’s not just you.

Leave a Reply

